Press Releases

Birmingham City Council President Assigns Committees

Contact: John Long
Phone: 205-254-2294
Cell: 205-490-4524
Birmingham, AL – Newly elected Birmingham City Council President, Johnathan Austin has assigned committees for the new council term. Most of the committees have continued to be covered by their previous chair, until the new assignments were declared.

“It is my intent that these committee assignments will continue to further facilitate the important work that we do on behalf of the citizens of Birmingham,” said Austin. “I look forward to working with my colleagues, their committees, and the administration in moving the city forward.”

There are eleven council committees. The new committee assignments are:

Administration and Education – Johnathan Austin (chair), William Parker, Marcus Lundy
Economic Development – Marcus Lundy (chair), Johnathan Austin, Kim Rafferty
Budget and Finance – Valerie Abbott (chair), Marcus Lundy, Johnathan Austin
Parks, recreation and Cultural Arts – William Parker (chair), Jay Roberson, Sheila Tyson
Planning and Zoning – Jay Roberson (chair), Steven Hoyt, Valerie Abbott
Public Improvement and Beautification – Sheila Tyson (chair), Steven Hoyt, Lashunda Scales
Joint Public Safety and Technology – Steven Hoyt (chair), William Parker, Kim Rafferty
Transportation and Communication – Kim Rafferty (chair), Lashunda Scales, Valerie Abbott
Utilities – Lashunda Scales (chair), Jay Roberson, Sheila Tyson

Assignments are effective immediately. Committee meeting times and locations can be found on the city council’s web site at The public can sign up to receive meeting notices from each committee on the council’s web site under the “Notify Me” section.