Press Releases

Birmingham City Council Re-elects Councilor Johnathan Austin to Council President; Elects Councilor Steven Hoyt to President Pro-Tempore

PRESS RELEASE                                                                                   Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Contact: Brittany Sharp

Phone: 205-721-5369

BIRMINGHAM, AL – In accordance with the recent changes made to the Mayor-Council Act by the Alabama Legislature, which in part required the City Council to hold leadership elections at today’s Council Meeting, the Birmingham City Council voted today re-electing Councilor Johnathan Austin (District 5) as Council President and Councilor Steven Hoyt (District 8) as the new President Pro-Tempore.

Councilor Johnathan F. Austin (District 5) will remain Council President and Councilor Steven A. Hoyt (District 8) was elected President Pro-Tempore. The current leadership will remain in place until 2017. Following the 2017 City elections, Councilors will be required to vote on a new President and President Pro Tem every two years instead of four, another amendment resulting from the changes to the Mayor-Council Act.

“I am humbled by my colleagues continued support in my leadership as Council President. I think they recognize that I am committed to ensuring that this Council leaves a legacy that demonstrates our collective commitment to improving the quality of life for all the residents of Birmingham and ensuring that we all have clean and safe neighborhoods we can be proud of,” President Austin said. “The Alabama Legislature only strengthened our resolve to do what’s best for Birmingham at the local level.”

In addition, new Council committees have been implemented. The new committee structure is as follows:

  • Administration / Technology – Chair: President Johnathan Austin
    • Councilor Steven Hoyt, Councilor Marcus Lundy
  • Economic Development / Budget & Finance – Chair: Councilor Marcus Lundy
    • Councilor Lashunda Scales, President Johnathan Austin
  • Education – Chair: Councilor Valerie Abbott
    • Councilor Kimberly Rafferty, Councilor William Parker
  • Utilities – Councilor Jay Roberson
    • Councilor Valerie Abbott, Councilor Sheila Tyson
  • Public Improvement and Beautification & Park & Rec – Chair: Councilor Sheila Tyson
    • Councilor Lashunda Scales, Councilor Steven Hoyt
  • Planning & Zoning – Chair: Councilor Kimberly Rafferty
    • Councilor William Parker, Councilor Valerie Abbott
  • Public Safety & Transportation – Chair: President Pro Tem Steven Hoyt
    • Councilor Sheila Tyson, Councilor Kimberly Rafferty
  • Governmental Affairs – Chair: Councilor Lashunda Scales
    • President Johnathan Austin, Councilor Marcus Lundy
  • Environmental Justice – Chair: Councilor William Parker
    • Councilor Marcus Lundy, Councilor Jay Roberson

“My colleagues and I are anxious to begin working under our new assignments,” President Pro-Tem Steven Hoyt said. “Although changes have been made, our goals remain clear and firm. We will continue to work towards the collective for the good of the city.”

For media inquiries please contact the Birmingham City Council Public Information Director Brittany Sharp at 205.721.5369 or